Top Menu


Another Great At Home Regatta Weekend



Another At Home Regatta completed, with a great weekend of Racing and Fun back at the Club.

From a Keelboat perspective a big thank you goes out to our Race Committee, especially to Kevin Lane and Richard Leonard for three great races. Saturday was a breezy day with plenty of challenges throughout the courses. Sunday started off light and gradually built up over the day as forecast. Racing was very tight in the Spinnaker IRC Class with North Star (Fiona Young and family) and Don’t Dilly Dally (Michael McCann) tying on equal points after three races. North Star winning on countback. In the Spinnaker ECHO Class Ellida (Ria Lyden) had a comfortable win from North Star.

In the WhiteSail 1 Class Cavatina (Ian Hickey) had a clean sweep in winning IRC and ECHO divisions. Freya (Mike Rider) had a second overall in WhiteSail 1 ECHO and Magnet (Kieran O Brien) was second overall in IRC. Scribbler II (Tom McSweeney and Family) had a clear win in WhiteSail 2 ECHO with Clodagh (Rob Foster and Family) coming second overall. Congratulations to All.

In the dinghy fleets, the Laser ‘passage race’ from Blackrock to Crosshaven on Saturday was a tough challenge for the single-handers. The ILCA 6 winner was Joe O’Sullivan, with Robert Jeffreys second and Eve McCarthy third. Laser 4 fleet winner was Craig O’Neill, with Liam Duggan second and Tommy Hiras third. The ILCA 7 winner was Richard McGlade. Liam Duggan won ILCA 4 in Sunday’s racing, with Craig O’Neill second and Eve McCarthy third.

Fevas raced from Monkstown to Crosshaven on Sunday, won by Cathal and Ruadhan Jackson, second Harry Coole and Chris Granby, and third Aifric Barry and Florence Dennehy.

Racing on the Curlane Bank, the Toppers winner was Lucy Moynan, second Kate Deane and third Ruby Foley. Optimists Class Gold winner was Rian O’Neill, second Charlie McKibben and third Ayda Bruen, with silver fleet winners were 1st Blake Vaughan, 2nd, Isaac Vaughan, and 3rd Dylan O’Sullivan. Bronze fleet winners were 1st Emily Lynch, 2nd Eoin Jones, 3rd Brendan Hughes, and Copper fleet winners were 1st Etahn Murphy, 2nd Oliver Kenneally, 3rd Antonia Twohig. The Mixed Dinghy Class 1 racing was won by Shane Collins & Matt Mapplebeck in a 420, followed in 2nd place by Pierce & Phelim Hanley (KYC) and 3rd place going to Sophie Crosbie & Chris Bateman in a RS200.

As always we would like to give a big thank you to everyone who contributed to make this wonderful weekend happen and thank you to our Club Sponsors AIB and John Paul Construction. We were delighted to be joined by Pat Horgan from AIB who presented the Dinghy prizes and Colin Crowley from John Paul Construction who presented the Keelboat prizes on Sunday afternoon.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply