Top Menu


Last Friday night, April 3rd, 2009, the annual Pyewacket award ceremony took place again.

The Bursary for this award and the magnificent perpetual trophy was presented to the club by American sailing legend and friend of Royal Cork Yacht Club, Roy Disney, in October 2001.

The pioneering  programme  was to further develop youth sailing in the Cork area.  The trophy is presented every year to the youth sailor who, in the opinion of the adjudicating committee, has achieved the best overall results  in his or her class.
This year the five very strong contenders provided a difficult task for the committee to decide.

The nominees were Seafra Guilfoyle, David Kenefick, Richie Harrington and Tom and Isabella Morehead.
The popular winner was Richie Harrington who picked up the trophy and a cheque  to help further his sailing career.  
The Club Admiral, Mike McCarthy, speaking at the ceremony congratulated the nominees and thanked the Junior Committee which this year is headed by Clair Crosbie and  Jackie Harrrington.
A very pleasant evening was enjoyed by all attending the event.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply