Top Menu


Stefan Hyde showed a light touch to win the ISA All Ireland Sailing Championship on Dublin Bay on Sunday afternoon. Junior Champion was Chris Penney.

At the start of the weekend Stefan said his favourite sailing moment was Classic Boat Racing in West Cork on a sunny day but coming ashore to a fanfare at the National Yacht Club, Hyde declared that "This tops a fantastic twelve months of sailing – three national titles, one world cup and now the All Ireland's". While Stefan was out winning the ISA Sailing Championship – his father was helping Richard Leonard as OOD boat for the October League.

Sailor of the Month last year (Nov 06), with Russell Treacy, and a member of the Trinity College Dublin sailing team that currently holds the Student Yachting World Cup, Stefan Hyde represented the J24 class in this 60th All Ireland Sailing Championship. A member of the Royal Cork Yacht Club, 25 year old Stefan Hyde raced the new SailFleet J80’s with Daire O’Reilly and Declan McManus.

A lack of wind and sea fog delayed racing in the Championship, posing challenges for race officials however their patience was rewarded as lunchtime saw the breeze start to fill in. In the end, a light north easterly fading breeze saw the Junior & Girls racing just off Seapoint, while the senior fleet raced further out in the Bay. Racing was abandoned after one race but it was enough to decide the title holders.

The 2007 Junior All Ireland Champion is Chris Penny (Carrickfergus Sailing Club & East Antrim Boat Club) who is also a member of the ISA Youth Academy. A delighted Penny exclaimed, “It was only when I got ashore that it sunk in.”

Local girl Annalise Murphy, from the National Yacht Club, is delighted to claim the title of All Ireland Girl Champion. Murphy received a wildcard invitation to compete based on her recent performances while campaigning for the Olympic Games in the Laser Radial Class.

All Ireland Sailing Championship 2007 – Final Results

Senior Champion
1. S Hyde; 2. M O’Connell; 3. T Fitzpatrick

Junior Champion
1. C Penny; 2. A McLaverty; 3. B Lynch

Girl Champion
1. A Murphy; 2. T Brien; 3. K White

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply