Top Menu

Splendiferous Night had by all at the Heineken Super League Prize Giving on Saturday at Royal Cork

The mood of the evening was set in the club bar by the result of the Munster v Northampton match and from there on things only got better by the minute.

It was a real club evening with magnificent trophies, hampers from the English Market identical to that presented to the Queen on England on her recent visit, sailing gear and clothing, vouchers and three bicycles from Victoria Cross Cycles resplendent in their glory sitting in the Green Room. What more could be on offer? As Rear Admiral Ronan Enright said at the commencement of the prize giving it would surely encourage more and more sailors to participate at the events.

The prizes were presented for the various leagues run throughout the season. First up for the Victoria Cross Cycles April League was John O’Connor who presented jackets to the winners, and then came the turn of the lucky winners of the Victoria Cross Cycles Summer League who were presented with a bicycle each and one of the recipients Peter Webster raised a cheer when he cycled out of the dining room on his. Then it was the turn of the UK Halsey McWilliam May League with Sue McWilliam doing the honours of presenting very desirable sail bags. Next it was on to the Union Chandlery June League when Toni O’Leary representing the company presented the winners with very welcome vouchers. This was followed by the Timberland July League with vouchers being presented on their behalf by Admiral Paddy McGlade. Then it was the turn of O’Leary Insurance Group with the August & September League and their special vouchers for the Old English Market’s much coveted hampers. The final league prizes were for the Heineken Super League and were presented by the Admiral.

Then we arrived at the moment of the presentation of the multiplicity of superb trophies, many too valuable to be allowed leave the club premises. These were awarded as follows:

May IRC All In Harold Cudmore Cup Mark Mendel

May IRC W/S Clytie Cup Peter Webster

July Class 3 IRC Camden Challenge Cup Maritta Buwalda & Jimmy Nyhan

July IRC W/S The First Sloop Flotilla Ernie Dillon

August IRC W/S The Admiral Doyle Plate Ian Hickey

Sept. IRC All in The Sans Souci Cup Ria Lyden

Sept. IRC W/S IF’S Stewpot Barry Crockett

Sept. IRC All in Hugh Smith Barry Trophy Leonard Donnery

Sept. IRC W/S The Atlantic Fleet Galleon Michael Wallace

Martin McDonnell Perpetual Trophy Batt O’Leary Presented by Julianne McDonnell

The Doyle Family Trophy Anthony O’Leary Presented by Ingrid Morrissey

The final presentation, the Boat of the Year Trophy, went to T.E. Crosbie in No Excuse.

All League Results HERE

Images HERE

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply