Top Menu


Royal Cork win IODAI VP Trophy

Eleven teams of four sailors each took part in this IODAI organised event on Friday 1st July at Malahide Yacht Club. Royal Cork Yacht Club and Monkstown Bay Sailing Club were well represented with 5 teams. The sailors completed 25 races in the group stages in very changeable but warm 4 kts to 30 kts, bright sunshine to heavy rain.

VP Trophy 2016 Plenty of Racing

After two round robin flights our Pumas (Dawson Kohl, Stephen Cunnane, Alana Twomey, James Dwyer Matthews), Jaguar (Cillian Foster, Eoin Horgan, Anna Keal, Jamie Venner) and Panthers (Simon Pritchard, Kate Horgan, Patrick Bruen, Richard McSweeney) teams were eliminated with MBSC Panthers being particularly unlucky losing on countback to a Royal St George team.

In the Semifinal our Leopards were pitted against our Cheetahs (Harry Pritchard, Justin Lucas, Lola Kohl, Jonathan O’Shaughnessy) ensuring one of our teams made it through to the final. The former won though and met the RStGYC counterparts who sailed well to even up the best of 5 series 1/1. In the third race our team won narrowly in quite squally conditions but however in the fourth with much less wind Royal Cork proved quicker and comfortably won.

The Leopards captained by Harry Twomey joined by Diego and Alexandra Peletiero with Michael Crosbie thus defended successfully the VP trophy they won last year.

vp trophy winners and boats 2016a

Our thanks to our sailors, coach John Durcan, Commodore Deirdre Moore-Somers and Malahide YC, the organisers and race team who ran a great event. The total number of races was 33 which was some doing considering the testing conditions on the day. Broadmeadows is a great venue with easy spectator viewing and a lovely modern clubhouse to boot. We really now are looking forwards to the Ulsters tomorrow and Sunday.

vp trophy winners 2016a

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply