Top Menu

Royal Cork 420 and 470 National Championships

Royal Cork Yacht Club hosted the 2010 National Championships of the 420 and 470 classes over the weekend. Principal Race Officer for the event, which was sailed out of Cuskinny, was Richard Leonard ably assisted by 420 Class President, Richard Kissane and Joe English. This event was also to be the inaugural event of the Irish 470 Nationals that saw three boats come to the start line.

There was an abundance of sailing talent at the start line and Saturday’s sailing took place in 15 to 20kts of breeze with Rob Lehane and Andrew O’Donoghue taking the overnight lead from Richie Harrington and Robbie English with Emma Geary and Niamh Connolly third in a fleet of sixteen boats.

Day two was back to Cuskinny with light north westerlies and saw Jane Butler and Jenny Andreason taking the first race.  Emma and Niamh won the fifth race and Cian O’Regan (KYC) and Scott Flanigan took the final race thus winning the National Title.  Rob Lehane was second with Emma and Niamh taking third position and First Girls Boat.

In the inaugural 470 National Championship Thomas Chaix and Barry McCartin  (KYC) were the overall winners.

Well done to all the competitors for a great weekend.

420 Results HERE

470 Results HERE

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply