Top Menu

IODAI Munsters RCYC May 2022-14

Perfect conditions for IODAI Munster Championships at RCYC

RCYC Optimist Class Captain Rob Bateman reports on IODAI Munster Championships 2022

The IODAI Munster Championships were sailed out of the Royal Cork Yacht Club on the weekend of the 21st and 22nd of May. For a first regionals of the season the turnout was a spectacular 125 boats with 78 in the Main Fleet and 47 in the Regatta Fleet.
Preparations had been in train for quite some time and a close collaboration between the RCYC and IODAI resulted in a fantastic event with no problems reported across the two days.

The event opened with registration on Friday evening with Ger Venner and her team ably processing sailors in an efficient manner. The RCYC Optimist class was very grateful to it’s goody bag sponsors with lovely treats and fruit provided by Centra, event T Shirts, Cork pens and flags supplied by Cork County Council, key rings and prizes from CH Marine and event bags and water bottles by Mathews of Cork.

PRO for the Main Fleet was Peter Crowley assisted by his team and the Regatta Fleet had Tom Crosbie officiating assisted by his team.

The wind was from the Southwest across both days and was mainly moderate. In the Main Fleet race area, a decent tide and some gusty conditions made the race track a tricky read but the pre event favourites managed the conditions well and took their expected places on the leader board.
The Regatta Fleet had taken up station close to the mouth of the river and sailed a nice triangular course. The Regatta fleet had a few retirals with some of the less experienced sailors opting to wait out some of the day in the Mothership. Everybody arrived ashore smiling which is testament to the tried and trusted systems developed over the years!
In the Main Fleet Peter Crowley’s efficient race team had managed to get in four races leaving two races for the next day.

Saturday sailing was quickly followed by a BBQ with Amy and her friendly staff serving up fantastic food. In the evening sunshine there was no better place to be of an evening… Some of the volunteers and parents may have stayed up too late but that’s the sign of a good event.

Sunday launching got underway on schedule with Beachmaster Eddie Kingston and his team working like a well-oiled machine.  Main Fleet followed by Regatta Fleet as is normal. A slightly lighter breeze had a full programme of racing concluded for both fleets and everyone was back ashore for 1430.

Prize giving followed, there having been no protests. Slight technical issues with the PA system left RCYC Optimist Class Captain Rob Bateman voicing the prize winners at the top of his voice. Opening the proceedings, he welcomed Alex Walsh of IODAI, followed by RCYC’s Rear Admiral Dinghies Maurice Collins and rounded off by Cllr. Marcia D’Alton, Chairperson from the Carrigaline Municipal District Committee of Cork County Council.


Photos courtesy of Craig O’Neill.  Craig’s IODAI Munster Championship 2022 photos.

More photos courtesy of Deirdre Horgan. Club Gallery Photos from Deirdre



Results below:

Regatta Fleet

1st Charlie McKieben MBSC
2nd Aurale Dion NYC
3rd Oliver Ryan MYC
4th Alex Butcher MYC
5th Theo Carney Cove SC

Best under 11 Emily Lynch RCYC
Best under 10 Louis Murphy Royal St.George YC
Best under 9 Arthur Fegan MYC

Coaches award
Most improved Matt HIras RCYC
Sportsmanship award Brendan Hughes RCYC

Youngest sailor award Fionn Pierse RCYC


Junior Fleet

1st Finn Foley Royal St.George YC
2nd Emily Donogh Lough Derg YC
3rd Maeve Donogh Lough Derg YC
4th Thomas A Coistealbha MYC
5th Lily Donogh Lough Derg YC

1st Max O’Hare Royal St.George YC
2nd Patrick Fegan MYC
3rd Rian O’Neil RCYC
4th George Doig East Antrim Boat Club
5th Paudie A Coistealbha

1st Juliet Ryan MYC
2nd Dougie Venner RCYC
3rd James Gorman NYC
4th Olin Bateman RCYC

Senior Fleet

1st Gemma Brady Lough Derg YC
2nd Grace Keating Lough Derg YC
3rd Conor O’Sullivan MYC
4th Henrietta Leach Lough Ree YC
5th Nathan Harris Waterford Harbour SC

1st Felix Dion NYC
2nd Marcus Shelley Royal St.George YC
3rd Hannah Scott Royal St.George YC
4th Zita Tempany Royal St. George YC
5th Suin A Coistealbha

1st Oisin Pierse RCYC
2nd Caoileann Geraghty McDonnell Royal St.George YC
3rd Conor Cronin MYC
4th Jules Start Royal St. George YC
5th Grace Cronin Royal St.George YC

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply