Top Menu

Optimist Leinster Championships 2014

photoThe third Regional event of 2014 took place last weekend in the form of the Leinster Championships at the Royal Irish Yacht Club in Dun Laoghaire. Conditions proved challenging with variable wind conditions dominating the weekend.

With the European Championships being held in Dun Laoghaire next week there was an International flavour to the event with Sailors from the UK, Malta, India, Slovakia and Hong Kong competing.

As always, RCYC Sailors did extremely well. In total we had 39 Sailors competing!

Harry Durcan is the overall winner of the event. Congratulations Harry! Christopher Bateman was 5th Irish, James McCann 7th, Cathal O’Regan 10th and Caoimhe Foster 11th Irish.

Our Sailors dominated in the Senior Silver Fleet with Paddy Cunnane in 1st place, Kate D’Arcy in 3rd, Sophie Crosbie  4th, Juliet Nyhan 5th and Jennifer O’Shaughnessy in 8th.

In the Junior Fleet Robert Keal was 5th Irish in a very competitive fleet. Conor Walsh finished 9th and Aoife Byrne in 12th.

In Junior Silver Sophia McKeown came 4th with Georgia Coveney hot on her heels in 5th place.

Well done also to Adam Power, Eoin Horgan, Ellie Cunnane, Conor Aherne, David Jones, Ben O’Hare, James Hassett, Cillian Foster, Mia Murphy, Rory O’Sullivan, Conor Horgan, Killian O’Regan, Tom Keal, Patrick Daly and Sarah Cudmore.

Regatta Fleet was won by Johnathon O’Shaughnessy followed by Ethan Berkery Kelly in 2nd Place. Proving that the future is in safe hands Patrick Bruen, Michael Crosbie, Anna Keal, Charlie Neville, Ciara Burns, Lucy Bateman and Max Coveney all did extremely well.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply