Top Menu

Optimist Cobbler League finished in fine style

The Cobbler League was finished in fine style with nearly 60 young sailors competing in 4 races on a lovely autumn day in Crosshaven. Seafra Guilfoyle completed a fine season by winning the final major event by 3 points from a very consistent Philip Brownlow who was closely followed by Peter McCann.

The complete final overall results are available here and there are lots of photographs here


Seafra Guilfoyle wins the Cobbler

Race officer Ronan Lyden was keen to get started early in the fine conditions and his promptness was rewarded with four races completed in sunny, shifty and sometimes blustery conditions on the Curlane bank.

The first race was won by John Durcan sailing in his first race of the series, closely followed by Philip Brownlow and Cian Byrne. The second race as a very close affair, any one of about six sailors could have taken the bullet with about 50 metres to go. In the end Seafra Guilfoyle just took  the gun from Alexander Rumball (visiting for the weekend for an ISA National Squad coaching session) and Brendan Lyden.

Fiona Daly had a comprehensive victory in the third race of the day from Peter McCann and Sophie Browne. Seafra Guilfoyle was over the line at the start to put a bit of pressure on for the final race of the series with both Philip Brownlow and Peter McCann within a few points on the overall results. In the event, Ruairi Finnegan won the last race from Philip Brownlow with Seafra Guilfoyle in third doing enough to take the overall.

The principal prize winners were as follows:

Gold Fleet:

1st Seafra Guilfoyle RCYC 24 Points

2nd Philip Brownlow RCYC 27 points

3rd Peter McCann RCYC 35 Points


1st Harry Whitaker RCYC

2nd David Whitaker RCYC

3rd Ross O’Sullivan KYC


1st Cliodhna O’Regan KYC

2nd Donagh O’Buachalla KYC

3rd Ben Hunt KYC


1st Cliodhna ni Shuileabhain KYC 2nd Eoghan O’Buachalla TBSC 3rd Scott O’Sullivan KYC

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply