Top Menu

More Optimist success as Seafra Guilfoyle wins Senior and Peter McCann wins Junior Nationals

The Club will be feting three (no mistake!) Optimist National Champions this Tuesday evening as Seafra Guilfoyle and Peter McCann emerged victorious in the Senior and Junior Divisions of the Optimist National Championship which concluded in the Royal St. George Yacht Club in Dun Laoghaire last Saturday.

With Cian Byrne winning the UK Junior National Title in Largs, Scotland the previous week it is clear that the club has some extraordinary young talents in its junior section.

Seafra sailed a wonderful series and in the 77 boat senior fleet counted a score of 1, 2, 2, 1, 1, 2, 3, 2, 3 to be clearly dominant over the field. Peter on the other hand had a hard battle in his 100 boat Junior fleet and was chased all the way by the well coached UK National Under 12 squad and his own club mate Cian (3rd overall) in a battle royal. Telling was the overall points with the Junior victory (10 races counted) being on 55 points, while the senior victory (9 races counted) was just 17!

In the prize sections Sophie Browne took first girl in the Juniors, Amy Harrington 5th Senior Gold, Mark Cudmore 2nd Senior Silver and Sam McGinley 4th Senior Silver while Graham Smith sailed excellently to take 4th

Junior Silver.

The club also received trophies for best overall club in both senior and junior fleets.

Raced over four days in generally fresh conditions on a choppy Dublin Bay, each sailor was tested to the full and all came up trumps.

A big thank you is due from the sailors and parents to the great coaching team of George Kenefick and Stefano Cherin who worked tirelessly to support and get the best out of the very large group.

With 15 senior fleet sailors, 19 junior (under 12), and 6 regatta fleet travelling the club is very proud of all the sailors.

Royal Cork Results

Senior Fleet – Full Results here

1          Seafra Guilfoyle

5          Amy Harrington

7          Patrick Crosbie

8          Ruairi Finnegan

12        John Durcan

15        Katherine Geoghegan

31        Marc Cudmore

33        Sam McGinley

38        Ewan O’Keeffe

39        Sarah Kelly

45        Philip Brownlow

51        Julie Power

65        Brendan Lyden

69        Rory Martin

72        Maeve O’Sullivan

Junior Fleet – Full Results here

1          Peter McCann

3          Cian Byrne

8          Sophie Browne

17        Daire Cournane

31        Eoin Lyden

34        Harry Whitaker

37        Graham Smith

40        Jamie Tingle

48        Jil McGinley

54        Louise Shanahan

55        Arran Walsh

61        Ronan Cournane

63        Oliver Nyhan

66        Ciaran Finnegan

86        Anna Kelly

94        Mike Varnam

97        Criofan Guilfoyle

Regatta Fleet – Full Results here

13        Rebecca O’Shaughnessy

19        Barry Shanahan

32        Charley Breen

33        James McCann

44        Claire O’Sullivan

46        Richard McGinley

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply