Top Menu


Keelboat June League Wrap Up

The June Thursday night league for Keelboats finished in great style. A full tide, 10 knots of breeze from the West provided ideal conditions for Race Office Richard Leonard and his team to lay a Windward Leeward course between Cork Beg and Cage Buoy. This suited well as the summer breeze faded and shifted towards the end of the evening.

Magnet (Kieran O Brien) and Crew won overall in the Whitesail IRC and ECHO league taking home the very nice pieces of silver. Trophies won include the Doughty Shamrock Dish dating back to 1915 and the Samphire Cup dating back to 1968.

Magnet crew left to right – Seamus Cogan, Cael Cheers, Fiorentina Carroll, Kieran O Brien, Catriona Cogan and Finon Cogan

Prince of Tides (Frank Caul and John Molloy) and Aramis (Pat Vaughan) shared the second and third positions overall.

The Spinnaker ECHO league winner was Saxon Senator (Eric and Wan Waterman) and Crew. They won the Clytie Cup which dates back to 1878. North Star (Young Family) and Bad Company (Desmond Ivors Keane) were second and third overall.

Saxton Senator crew left to right – Wan Waterman, Timmy Waterman, Isabella Clarke Waterman, Eric Waterman, Charlie McKibbon, Wanfred Waterman, Pat Sparrow, Tim McCarthy, Isabelle McCarthy, Edwin Ryan and Ultan McKibben

The Spinnaker IRC league winner was North Star (Young Family and friends). They won the Smith Barry Cup which dates back to 1927. Coracle (Kieran Collins) and Don’t Dilly Dally (Michael McCann) came second and third overall.

North Star crew left to right – Richard McGlade, Ellie Aniros, Jack Young and Jonathon O Shaughnessy

Results here.

Well Done to All.

July leagues resume after Volvo Cork Week.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply