Top Menu

ISA Senior All Ireland Championship to take place in Howth this weekend

A very much depleted  All Ireland ISA Championship will take place at Howth Yacht Club on Saturday and Sunday of this weekend.  The current champion, Peter O’Leary will not be defending his title and none of the Olympic contenders from Weynouth 2012 will be attending so that means there will be non appearances from Annalise Murphy, Ger Owens and Ryan Seaton.  Neither will Anthony O’Leary of Royal Cork be in attendance according to the list.

Originally it had been intended to hold a Pre Qualifier on today, Friday, but due to the invited nominees signalling their intention of non attendance the event could barely muster the sixteen entries listed.  A huge difference indeed from the days when people eagerly sought places in this competition and many an argument ensued over a lack of  places, even in the pre-qualifing event, for all the classes.

The 16 class representatives hail from all four corners of the country; nine sail from Dublin, three from Cork and one each from Westmeath, Limerick, Donegal and Antrim.

Mermaid – Mark Boylan, Skerries SC; Fireball – Noel Butler; ICRA ‘1’ – Colin Byrne, Royal Irish YC; Laser Radial – Thomas Chaix, Kinsale YC; J24 – Cillian Dickson, Howth YC; SB20 – Ben Duncan; Junior Winner – Séafra Guilfoyle, Royal Cork YC; Shannon OD – Laurence Hanley, Lough Ree YC; Ruffian – Trevor Kirkpatrick, Carrickfergus SC; Wild Card – Finn Lynch, National YC; Flying Fifteen – Ian Mathews, National YC; ICRA ‘2’– Simon McGibney, Foynes YC GP14 – John McGuinness, Moville BC; RS400 – Emmet Ryan, Royal St George YC; Multihull – Mark Small, Kinsale YC; Howth 17, Mike Toomey, Howth YC.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply