Top Menu

ISA National Optimist Squad welcomed to Cobbler League

The 60 boat Optimist fleet welcomed the visiting members of the ISA National Optimist squad to the Cobbler League. Racing was held in light and shifty conditions on the Curlane Bank under the supervision of race officer Nick Walsh with assistance from Larrie Martin.

In the main fleet, Philip Brownlow (RCYC) had his second race win of the series in the first race of the day. He was followed home by Peter McCann (RCYC), Patrick Crosbie (RCYC) and Harry Whittaker (RCYC) who was making his first appearance in the league after having his appendix removed (clearly he didn’t miss the weight). The second race was won by Peter McCann followed by Seafra Guilfoyle (RCYC), Sophie Browne (TBSC/RCYC) and Sean Donnelly (NYC). This leaves Peter McCann leading the league overall from Cian Byrne (RCYC) and Daire Cournane (KYC/RCYC). Andrew Levie (LDYC/KYC) leads the Senior Silver fleet and Cliodhna Ni Shuilleabhain (KYC) is winning the Junior Silver division.

In the regatta fleet (for the less experienced sailor and sailed on a shorter course with a separate start) Rebecca O’Shaughnessy (RCYC) won both races, Claire O’Sullivan (RCYC) had a 2nd and a 3rd, Tom McGrath (RCYC) a 4th and a 2nd with Adam d’Arcy claiming a 3rd in the first race of the day.  This leaves it all to play for with Rebecca leading by two points from James McCann with Tim McGrath in third overall.

The full is of results is available here.

The Cobbler League concludes on Sunday 25th October. Please note that a prize giving will be held as soon as possible after racing next Sunday (which may be earlier than the time originally advised in the Notice of Race). The prize giving will be in the Dinghy Centre.

After racing the 16 members of the ISA National Squad packed their boats and loaded them onto the trailer for their trips to Vigo in northern Spain next weekend for the International Pescanova Optimist Meeting and a further regatta in Palma de Majorca (Regata Ciutat de Palma) at the start of December. Cork boats make up the bulk of the squad reflecting the commitment and abilities of the sailors and the success of the local coaching in both Crosshaven and Kinsale. The squad members are:

Sophie Browne (Tralee Bay SC/Royal Cork YC)

Philip Brownlow (Royal Cork YC)

Cian Byrne (Royal Cork YC)

Patrick Crosbie (Royal Cork YC)

Daire Cournane (Kinsale YC/ Royal Cork YC)

Robert Dickson (Sutton DC)

Sean Donnelly (National YC)

Ruairi Finnegan (Waterford Harbour SC)

Sean Gambier-Ross (Kinsale YC)

Seafra Guilfoyle (Royal Cork YC)

Adam Hyland (Royal St George YC)

Eoin Lyden (Royal Cork YC /Baltimore SC)

Peter McCann (Royal Cork YC)

Conor Murphy (Kinsale YC)

Cliodhna O’Regan (Kinsale YC)

Erica Ruigrok (Skerries SC)

The sailors will be accompanied on both trips by the National Optimist Coach, Thomas Chaix, assisted by Ross Killian, and Louise O’Keeffe (Team Mum) assisted by Caroline Murphy.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply