Top Menu

ISA National Match Race Championship

Nicholas O’Leary from the Royal Cork Yacht Club is the winner of the ISA National Match Race Championship 2008 following 2 days of highly competitive match racing.

The final was an exciting duel with Nicholas O’Leary beating John Sheehy from host club, the Royal St. George Yacht Club, by 2-0 to win the title last weekend.

The ten teams from around Ireland sailed over 50 match races to complete the round robin league and the final rounds. The round robin consisted of 9 matches for each team. At its conclusion O’Leary had a clear lead of 8 wins to Sheehy’s 6, a position shared with Andrew Deakin, Cullaun SC, and George Kingston, Kinsale YC. Sheehy got the final slot on the basis of a tie break. Deakin and Kingston raced each other in a tightly fought ‘Petit Final’ which was won by Deakin with a score of 2-1 to take the Bronze Medallion. This was also an ISAF Grade 3 Event and all competitors will receive World Match Race Ranking points. The next event for the winners will be the ISAF Nations Cup European qualifiers in Kinsale in October. O’Leary’s crew are: Cian Twomey, Joe Bruen, Marty O’Leary and Katie Tingle.

Conditions were variable, trying the race management skills of race officer Brian Craig and his team. Elsewhere, the competitors were testing the decision making skills of the umpires led by Ailbe Millerick and Michael O’Connor both International Umpires.

Final placing:

1. Nicholas O’Leary RCYC
2. John Sheehy RSGYC
3. Andrew Deakin Cullaun SC
4. George Kingston KYC
5. Martin Mahon CSC
6. Mary O’Loughlin HYC
7. Darragh O’Connor UCC SC
8. Andrew Fowler RSGYC
9. Simon McGibney RWYCI
10. Fred Cudmore RCYC

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply