Top Menu

Irish Laser National Championship 2014

Ballyholme Yacht Club hosted the Irish Laser National Championships last weekend. Held over a four day period, there were 6 races completed (no racing Friday due to high winds) in varying conditions for the 127 boat fleet. Royal Cork had 15 Sailors competing.

4.7 Fleet: Young Johnny Durcan was crowned Irish Laser 4.7 National Champion for 2014. He continued his good form this season and finished on 8 points, a clear 10 points to spare over local sailor Rory Fekkes (39 boat fleet). Rebecca O Shaughnessy also had a very good weekends racing and finished 6th overall.(1st Girl). Ronan Walsh had some very impressive results to finish 7th overall.

Other Royal Cork sailors in the 4.7 fleet included: Luke McGrath 19th, Eoghan O Regan 27th and Tara Coveney 36th.

Radial Fleet: Olympian Annalise Murphy showed off her impressive sailing abilities to win the Laser Radial National Championships. Cian Byrne sailed a very consistent regatta and came a superb 2nd overall. Cian discarded a 7th in this very competitive 46 boat fleet.

Our ISAF Silver medallist, Seafra Guilfoyle, finished 10th overall. Breaking a mast top section in race 3 and counting a black flag brought Seafra down a few places but still a very creditable result! Other Royal Cork sailors in the Radial fleet included: Richard Thompson 25th, Dermot Lyden 26th, Tom McGrath 33rd, Charlie Moloney 36th, Jamie Tingle 41st.

Standard Fleet: Olympian and local sailor James Espey won the Standard Rig National Championships with 6 straight wins.. Royal Cork sailors Eddie Rice and Nick Walsh continued their preparations for the Master Worlds in Hyeres France next month. Nick finished 12th and Eddie finished 21st in the 42 boat fleet.

Local racing continues for all fleets this Saturday with the race to Blackrock. Training contuinues for all on Sunday morning. Ready to go sailing at 10.00hrs…

For full championship results please click on the link below.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply