Top Menu

H Harling Hayes Memorial Trophy

Inaugural Event


H. Harling Hayes Memorial Trophy race … Inaugural event


The H. Harling Hayes memorial trophy race took place on Saturday 24th May in the harbour amidst blustery north-easterly winds of 25 – 30kts and a short wind against tide chop. This was the first in a series of planned events whereby the older (and valuable) Royal Cork Yacht Club trophies will be contested. While the trophies will remain with the club they will be inscribed, where possible, and a record kept of the winning boats.


Most of the competitors had trouble even before the start in setting small headsails and deep reefed mains with “Indulgence” (Aidan Heffernan) opting to retire early. Race officers Derry and Hilda Good got the fleet off to a good start with “Thunderbird” (Denis Coleman) taking an early lead on the long beat to EF4 by way of Corkbeg. “Magnet” (Kieran & Liz O’Brien) won the start-line tussle with “Bad Company” (Desmond, Deasy, Ivers) pushing them the wrong side of Cage at the start but then suffered damage to her main when a reefing line broke. Technical problems also caused Bad Company to retire later in the race. The smaller boats were represented by “Fast Buck” (John and Fiona Murphy) in Class 3 and by “Thistle” (Peter Webster) in White sail. 


On the run back Thunderbird was seen flying their spinnaker (very brave considering the squally conditions) but

were being chased hard by “Tux” (Mary O’Keefe). Everyone was glad to finish in one piece after a hard day. In the end Tux took the H. Harling Hayes Memorial trophy in Class 1, Thunderbird won Harold Cudmore Cup in Class 2


ahead of Magnet, Fast Buck in Class 3 was presented with the Clytie Cup dating back to 1878 and Thistle was presented with the Atlantic Fleet Galleon Trophy  given to the Club in 1907 by the Atlantic Fleet.


Despite the testing conditions it was a great day’s sailing. It is hoped that these special events will attract larger numbers as the season goes on. The trophy winners will become a part of club history … and then there is always the Heineken!.


P.Webster / K. O’Brien


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply