Top Menu

Final Report Calves Week.

Near perfect weather and the largest fleet of the week graced the waters off Schull on Sunday for the annual regatta and final day of Calves Week.With the start line moved outside the harbour the fleets took in both the Goat and Calve Islands together with the marks off Castle Island.

In Class Zero IRC Kieran Twomeys “Gloves Off” finished a brilliant week of sailing to take the Regatta Cup and also the overall trophies in both handicap divisions, while Schull Sailing Club Commodore Morgan O’ Donovan’s “Loco” won the Regatta Echo cup.

In Class One IRC the overall result went right down to the wire with victory in the final race giving Donal O Leary’s “D Tox” the title after a six points tie break with Simon Coveney s “Wavetrain”.  D Tox finished a very successful weeks racing by also winning the Echo overall trophy.

Competition was also intense in Class Two IRC with Conor Ronan’s “Ruthless” just edging out  the Deasey/Ivers/Desmond crew in “Bad Company” for the overall trophy thanks to his better final race result, while in Echo a third place in the regatta race, behind Andrew Mackeys “Lornadrew” was good enough to win the overall for John McGowan’s “Mackey G”.

The overall in Class Three IRC was never in doubt with David  Kenefick  in  “Tiger” scoring five bullets, while a third in the final race for Paul Murrays “Full Pelt” saw him claim the Echo overall.

In Class Four the Hanley Brothers in “Saoirse” finished off a productive weeks racing by winning the IRC regatta cup and the overalls in both handicap divisions with Una Buckley sailing “Tete-a-Tete to victory in Echo.

In the White Sail One fleet the Don McCarthy sailed VSOP won the regatta race, while a third place for Bryan Heffernans “Aisling” was good enough for him to clinch the overall trophy.  In White Sail Two Tadgh Dwyer’s  “Brazen Huzie” won the overall, having discarded the regatta result which saw Frank Murphys “Dreamcatcher take the trophy.

The McMahon trophy for best local boat went to Paul Murray’s “Full Pelt” while the Pearson “Spirit of the regatta trophy “was presented to Bill Rigney.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply