Top Menu

Cork Sailors Dominate Munster Optimist Championships in Kinsale

The PriceWaterhouseCoopers Munster Optimist Championships was held over the weekend in Kinsale and attracted a fantastic entry of almost 150 sailors from all over the country. The fleet is divided into three divisions – Senior (aged 13-15), Junior (12 and under) and Regatta (sailors starting on their competitive careers). Royal Cork sailors excelled at levels winning all the major prizes. The results can be found in the results section above.

Adverse weather conditions on Saturday meant that only one race was held for the gold fleets in both the senior and junior divisions. Sunday was much better and race officer, Richard Leonard, and the race team ran three good races in the outer harbour for all sailors in both divisions. The regatta fleet completed their races on Sunday under the able guidance of Bruce Matthews who presided over their efforts in a most fatherly fashion and gave due praise at the prize giving.

The senior division was a very tight affair with five points separating the first five sailors. The regatta was won by Seafra Guilfoyle from Royal Cork who was very consistent counting three results in the top 4 to win the regatta by the narrowest of margins from John Durcan (Royal  Cork) and Patrick Crosbie (Royal Cork). Fiona Daly from Tralee was next best, having won the first race on Sunday, having lead from start to finish. Brendan Lyden and Amy Harrington (both Royal Cork) were next best in 5th and 6th.

The junior division was won by Peter McCann (Royal Cork) who counted two wins and a fourth to win from Cian Byrne (Royal Cork). Cliodhna O’Regan (Kinsale) was next best by a whisker from Sophie Browne (Royal Cork/Tralee). The two girls won the last two races to really put it up to the boys.

Silver fleet division prizes were awarded in the senior division to William Potterton (Waterford Harbour), Peter Quelly (Waterford Harbour) and Peter Moore (Skerries). In the junior division the silver fleet prizes went to Donal Collins (Galway), Graham Smith (Royal Cork) and Scot Levie (Lough Derg).

The regatta fleet was won by 10 year old Scott O’Sullivan from Kinsale with Aiden Carroll (Dingle) in second and Harry Dobbs (Royal North of Ireland) third.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply