Top Menu


Cobbler League draws to a successful conclusion

The 2016 Cobbler league concluded yesterday with a lovely calm day, light breezes (becoming lighter!) and a fleet of almost 70 Optimist dinghies from our club, Kinsale, Monkstown, Tralee and Foynes. Thankfully the Regatta fleet who had nearly ½ the total entries had 3 races on the final weekend to go with their 3 of the first weekend having had no racing on one weekend and on 2 others it was too windy to sail. Such is life in October! We had thankfully plenty of support with club ribs from here and other clubs, parents ribs and motorboats so many thanks to all parents and staff who made this happen.   Our thanks must also go to the various PROs’ and parents for taking the time to support the sailors both on and off the water (including the most welcome hot chocolate for the sailors afterwards).

As the Cobbler League is an open series it is based on a regional event set-up meaning that the sailors are allocated into fleets based on age and also experience. The results therefore are allocated into Senior (aged 13 yrs and up) and split into Gold and Silver; Junior fleet (up to and including 12 year olds) and split likewise and finallay the Regatta Fleet. Regatta fleet competitors benefit from coaching on the water during racing as needed and is an ideal way to begin competitive sailing.

This year we had 5 Sundays of racing but the Main fleet lost 1 day due to no wind. The other 4 were had all wind strengths from light to very challenging. The Main fleet counted 8 races plus 3 discards while Regatta counted 5 with 1 discard.

The full results can be seen on the club website but with 40 entries in Main Fleet the overall winner of Senior Gold was Killian O’Regan, 2nd Harry Pritchard and 3rd Cillian Foster. Winner of Senior Silver was Adam Doyle 2nd  Francis Corkery  and 3rd Ellie Cronin; Winner of Junior Gold was Michael Crosbie,  2nd Eoin Horgan and 3rd Justin Lucas. Winner of Junior Silver was Emer McMorrow-Moriarty 2nd Stephen Cunnane and 3rd Ciara Burns. In Regatta of the 36 entries the overall winner was James Murphy, 2nd was Thibault Dargnies and 3rd was David McSweeney. The overall 1st place in the series went to Killian O’Regan which was most deserved.

The next event is our annual Junior laying up supper which is on friday 18th November in the club dining room. We look forward to seeing you there



CC Optimists


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply