Top Menu

Chris 2

Bateman Wins Crosshaven House PY1000

Chris Bateman sailing an ILCA 6 was a convincing winner in this year’s Crosshaven House PY1000.

In it’s 9th year, the event continues to grow with entries breaking 50 for the first time. 

Crosshaven House have come on board as sponsor this year and put forward a perpetual trophy. Thank you to Noel Corcoran, Stacey O’Sullivan and the team who were so supportive throughout.

This year the race was run in a pursuit format with boats starting on a staggered basis in line with their handicaps, the first to cross the line then after 90 minutes being the winner.

The Toppers and RS Tera were first out of the blocks in the new pursuit format. Isha Duggan lead for much of the race before eventually being hunted down by the faster boats.

With gusts of over 30 knots forecast, race officer John Crotty set an interesting course with mark 1 upriver at Coolmore House towards Carrigaline and mark 2 off Crosshaven House near the boatyard.

The river course gave reprieve from the strong gusts at times.

The course raised some eyebrows when announced but on returning to shore, consensus was it was great to get a fair race in given the conditions involved and it’s not even people will get the chance to race upriver.

Staying upright in the gusty conditions was the aim of the game, not all could manage it however!

32 boats finished the race in the end with Chris Bateman taking the win in an ILCA 6 in convincing style. Chris took away the new trophy and a cheque for €700.

Chris Bateman, overall winner with Stacey O’Sullivan from Crosshaven House and Alex Barry, event organiser.

2nd to 5th was hotly contested with Portugese laser coach Andre Granadeiro etching out 2nd in his ILCA 6.

2nd placed Andre Granadeiro allegedly passing out a car on the Carrigaline road.

2021 winner Oisin MacSweeney was 3rd, again in an ILCA 6. It was a year for the Lasers this year as they join 29ers, N18s, 420s and RS400s as previous winners.

Oisin Mac Sweeney at full speed on his way to 3rd place this year having won it in 2021 and been 2nd in 2022 in a 29er.

Full Results Here

Videos and images below.

Thanks to Bob Bateman and Mary Malone for photos on the day.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply