Top Menu


Barry, Barrett & Brown are Crowned National 18 Champions

Ewan Barry, Dion Barrett and Stan Brown won the National 18 Irish dinghy Championships for a fourth time at Royal Cork Yacht Club on Sunday after a two-day CH Marine sponsored championship at Crosshaven.

Despite efforts to run the entire event off Roches Point, the 11-boat fleet was forced back inside Cork Harbour on Sunday by light winds in order to complete the five-race contest.

Barry, Barrett and Brown won overall by dint of their last race win but actually finished on the same eight points as the second overall crew, clubmates Patrick Crosbie sailing with his sister Chloe and recently announced Paris 2024 Olympic 49er campaigner Seafra Guilfoyle.

Sailing two up, Davey O’Connell and Anthony Coole finished third overall. 

As Afloat reported earlier, the championships were run by National 18 Treasurer Joanna O’Brien with N18 Class Captain Charles Dwyer presenting the prizes.

Full image gallery from Bob Bateman on Afloat.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply