Top Menu

Aodh Kennedy wins the Cobbler League


Last Day Action from the Cobbler League by Gabrielle Morehead

Aodh Kennedy of Kinsale Yacht Club won the Cobbler League at the Royal Cork Yacht Club from local favourite Killian O’Keeffe while sailing in France!

Aodh Kennedy was one of seven entrants who were abroad with the Irish Optimist Squad at a coaching event in La Rochelle for the last weekend of the Cobbler League. Despite his absence, he improved his overall position from 2nd to 1st because of more consistent results than Killian O’Keeffe who was also away with the Squad. Fellow Squad members Katie Gambier-Ross and Colm O’Regan finished 3rd and 4th respectively.

Sunday proved a stiff but manageable test for the main fleet competitors under the direction of Principal Race Officer, Tom Crosbie , ably assisted by his wife Claire. Tom & Claire stood in at short notice for Ronan & Nuala Lyden whose son Brendan had an accident on Saturday that hospitalised him for 2 days. All of the children who signed his “Get Well” card will be happy to note that he has made a full recovery and has been discharged.

The top performer on the day was Kirsti O’Flynn (RCYC) with a first and a second. Paul Martin (RCYC) finally showed everyone what he can do with a 2nd and a 3rd in an otherwise disappointing series. Amy Harrington (RCYC) was very unlucky to break her sprit halyard while in 3rd place in the first race but on-the-water repairs enabled her to record a fine 1st place in the last race of the series which was completed in seriously inclement conditions with over 20 knots of breeze and hailstones.

Other notable performances on the day included a 5th and 4th from David Whittaker, 4th and 5th from Vikki Cudmore and 6th and 7th from Alexandra Morehead all from the RCYC.


Kirsti O’Flynn 5th Overall

The day’s results moved Kirsti up to 5th and Amy to 6th overall in the Gold Fleet. The Silver Fleet was won by Amy Clarke (9th overall) of Kinsale from Cian Byrne (14th) and Peter McCann (15th) of the RCYC.


Amy Clarke 1st Silver

The Bronze Fleet made up the bulk of the 54 main fleet entrants and was particularly competitive. The top 6 were as follows:

  1. Alexandra Morehead (10th Overall)  – RCYC
  2. Patrick Crosbie (11th)  – RCYC
  3. Vikki Cudmore (16th)  – RCYC
  4. David Whittaker (18th)  – RCYC
  5. Ruari Finnegan (19th)  – WHSC
  6. Chloe Crosbie (21st)  – RCYC

Alexandra Morehead 1st Bronze

A complete listing of the main fleet results can be seen here.

The conditions were deemed to be too difficult for the Regatta Fleet and, as the tide was out, there was not enough room to race them in the river. Michael O’Donovan of the RCYC therefore maintained his overall lead, from Ciara Judge, Peter Healy, Hugh Connell, Ross O'Sullivan and John Mitchel, all from Kinsale. A complete listing of the regatta fleet results can be seen here.


Michael O’Donovan 1st Regatta

The “Cobbler” himself, Tom Dwyer, was on hand to present the prizes. Local class chairman, Darren O’Keeffe thanked Tom, the race officers, rescue boat drivers and helpers and the hot chocolate providers on behalf of all the competitors.

Loads more photographs on in the Gallery Section of the Club website courtesy of Robert Bateman and Gabrielle Morehead.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply