Top Menu


The Championships concluded  today (Sun) for all classes with the run of good luck holding up with winds of 10 knots and flat seas providing exciting and tight racing.  After the first race was sailed today the fleets swapped courses and sailed on their alternative course for the second race adding variety and spice to the racing.

Anthony O’Leary in Antix on 9.5 pts took the Class 0 IRC title by the slimmest of margins over Dave Dwyer’s who had 10.5 pts.  Marinerscove, sailed by Nicholas O’Leary, had two first places today as the lighter airs seemed to suit the Mills 39 a little better and Antix is giving her 40 seconds in the hour..  In the strong tides and light winds Antix secured second and third today.  Peter Rutter’s Quokka 8 a British Commodore’s Cup Team member had a third and second today but was very consistent throughout the event and was able to discard a 6th and this cemented his third place on 16 points.

On the whole there were no major surprises in the IRC results with just a couple of changes in placings, with a notable exception in Division One IRC ,with the  emergence of Tony Fox’s A35 Gringo to take second place.  Gringo who was lying in sixth place yesterday, today scored two seconds and with a discard of 19 this was enough to bring him to second place. The winner, Rockabill, sailed by Mel Collins had five firsts and a second in the series in what was possibly, with 29 boats, the most competitive of the classes.  The best of the J109s, Joker 2, was third.

In Class Two an interesting fact is that Corby 25s took places one two and three. The pre race favourite the Colwell/Murphy Kinetic took the trophy from two Cork boats, Denis Coleman in Thunderbird second and Vinny O’Shea in Yanks and ffrancs third.

In Class Three Flor O’Driscoll in Hard on Port lost his crown to the Faroux Quarter tonner Tiger of Joxer O’Brien and the Kenefick father and son pairing followed in third place by the quarter tonner Supernova from the Royal Irish Yacht Club.

The non spinnaker Division 5 sailed only five races for the series and Vincent Farrell in Tsunami took the crown here followed by Philip Dilworth in Orna  and Liam Coyne in Lula Belle.

Non spinnaker Division 6 was won by Joe Carlton in Voyager, followed by Peter Dunlop from Wales in Mojito with Howth Yacht Club Brazen Hussy of J.Barry and M. Stirling in third place.

A special mention must be made of  Royal Cork’s own Donal O’Leary in D-Tox. who not only  took part in the feeder race to the Nationals but finished eighth out of a fleet of 29 in the hugely competitive IRC One Class of which he was the scratch boat and took third place in the final race of the series.

All in all an excellent competition and we will look forward to hosting the event at Royal Cork in 2011.

Liebherr National Cruiser Championships at Royal St George Yacht Club.  Provisional overall results after seven races:    Division 0 IRC:  1 Antix (A. O’Leary);  2 Marinerscove (D. Dwyer);  3 Quokka 8 (P. Rutter);  Division 0 ECHO:  1 Marinerscove (D. Dwyer);  2 Roxy 6 (R. Davies);  3 Crazy Horse (Chambers);  Division 1 IRC:  1 Rockabill V (P. O’Higgins);  2 Gringo (T. Fox);  3 Joker 2 (J.Maybury);  Division 1 ECHO:  1 Jelly Baby (I. Nagle);  2 Gringo (T. Fox);  3 Rockabill V (P. O’Higgins);  Division 2 IRC:  1 Kinetic (R. Colwell);  2 Thunderbird (D. Coleman);  3 Yanks $ ffrancs (V. O’Shea);  Division 2 ECHO:  1 Slack Alice (S. Statham);  2 Yanks $ ffrancs (V. O’Shea);  3 Kinetic (R. Colwell);  Division 3 IRC:  1 Tiger (O’Brien);  2 Hard on Port (F. O’Driscoll);  3 Supernova (S. McCormack);  Division 3 ECHO:  1 Jibberish (O’Kelly);  2 Tiger (O’Brien);  3 Supernova (S. McCormack);  Division 5 IRC:  1 Tsunami (V. Farrell);  2 Orna (P. Dilworth);  3 Lula Belle (L. Coyne);  Division 5 ECHO:  1 Lula Belle (L. Coyne);  2 Persistance (I. Stuart);  3 Adelie (K. Byrne);  Division 6 IRC:  1 Voyager (J. Carton);  2 Mojito (P. Dunlop);  3 Brazen Hussy (J. Barry);  Division 6 ECHO:  1 Voyager (J. Carton);  2 Mojito (P. Dunlop);  3 Brazen Hussy (J. Barry).

Offshore Trophy: Anthony O’Leary RCYC

Corinthian Cup: Vincent Farrell NYC

Best Visiting Boat: Peter Rutter RORC

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply