Top Menu

Amy Harrington wins Nail-Biter

A dead heat for first place in a nail-biting finish to the final
race sees Amy Harrington win Burns Trophy for Optimists by the narrowest of margins on a count-back.


Photo Finish (Photo: Darren O’Keeffe)

Full results are available here .

Going into the final race of this two-weekend series, three
sailors, Seafra Guilfoyle, Amy Harrington and Peter McCann were tied on points
for the lead.  All three of them had this
worked out so the stage was set for a grand finale – and what a finale it proved
to be. Peter was leading from Amy by a boat length (10ft) at the final windward
mark with just the run and a short beat to the finish to go. Amy got an inside
overlap at the leeward mark after a ding-dong battle the whole way down the run
to lead by half a boat length at the turn. Race officer Tom Crosbie said to the
crew of Nemo that this was going to be really close one and asked Darren O’Keeffe
to prepare the camera for a photo finish. It was just as well. Peter tacked and
Amy covered. Peter tacked back and had to duck her and tacked again on her hip.
Amy tacked and just crossed Peter. Peter was on the lay line and continued but
Amy saw more wind on the right. With 20 yards to go to the line it looked as if
Peter was going to take the gun. However, the puff on the right was bringing
Amy home fast. Tom and Darren were both on the line. It was too close to call.
Tom thought it was a dead heat. Darren had the photograph to prove that his
judgement was correct.

Amy and Peter finished on the same points (7.5) after
allowing for discards and Amy won because she had more first places (2) than
Peter’s (one). At the start of the day Amy had a handy lead with two first
places from the previous weekend. However, Peter got the bit between the teeth
to take 2nd in the first race and 1st in the 2nd
race of the day. Seafra also got going with a 1st and a 2nd
to set up the final shootout.

Light refreshments in the Dinghy Centre, kindly organised by
Louise O’Keeffe, provided an opportunity for the parents to chat, stories to be
told and proof of the outcome to be shown to all!

More photographs by Darren here .


Amy receives Burns Cup from Darren (Photo: Paul Tingle)

The silver fleet was won by Graham Smith (again on a count-back,
from Harry Whitaker), the bronze by Jil McGinley and the copper fleet was won
by Niamh O’Connell.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply