Top Menu


All Smiles For This Year’s Coolmore Race

The annual junior dinghy Coolmore race was once again a major success this year, with 36 sailors taking part in the race down the Owenabue estuary to the club. For once, we had a lovely North-Westerly breeze to speed the sailors journey home. Many of the sailors choose dinghies they don’t otherwise sail, with all the club 2-handed dinghies hired for the evening.

James Dwyer was first home and also won the race under PY handicap in a laser, taking the coveted Coolmore trophy. Ryan O’Connell, Milo Twomey, and Liam Ruttledge took 2nd place in a National18, followed by Rian Collins & JP Curtin in a magno. There was also subsequent prizes for each fleet, with Joe O’Sullivan taking the laser prize, Fionn Daly and Becky Woodroffe taking the boys and girls topper prizes, with Kate Deane and Andrew O’Neill taking the girls and boys oppie prizes, with the mixed dinghy prize going to Max Tolan & Dan O’Leary. It was great to see the crowd of parents and onlookers along the greenway cheering on the sailors on their annual mid-summer race through Drake’s Pool.

Thank you to Maurice Collins and Siobhan Carmody for organising and Turlough Fitzpatrick for the great pics.

Results are here and images below.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply