Top Menu

Downwind start for the AIB PY1000 with boats from various classes. Photo courtesy of Bob Bateman

AIB PY1000 Sees Record 62 Entrants

Saturday saw the running of the AIB PY1000, the first Cork300 event in celebration of our Tricentenary.

A record 62 entrants battled it out for a €1,000 prize fund in this ‘all in’ Portsmouth Yardstick dinghy race. From classic 18’s to International 14’s, it was great to see such a diverse fleet manage the tricky conditions.

Race officer John Crotty was forced to bring racing out of the river and on to the Curlane Bank for the first time in the event’s history due to very light winds. Racing eventually got going at 16:15 with a downwind start towards the back channel perch, it was an amazing spectacle.

After a sausage-triangle course, the fleet finished at Currabinny pier in light breeze and a strengthening ebb tide. 

Colin Chapman, Eddie Rice and Ewan O’Keeffe sailing their National 18 were crowned overall winners and took home the cheque for €700. 

Colin Chapman thanked his crew, competitors and all volunteers for making the event a success. Photo courtesy of Bob Bateman

Chris Bateman won the Lasers and Shane Collins, the Topper division.

Knox Kohl was the youngest sailor and first female home was Sophie Crosbie.

The youngest crewed boat was sailed by Ethel and Olin Bateman and the oldest combined Crew was Tommy Dwyer and Willy Healy.

Full results are here

Photos courtesy of Bob Bateman are here

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply